Talk to your Girls

The trend in Awareness Raising brand messaging has been going strong.

(if with debated success) for years.

This 6 year old, and nevertheless equally profound (sadly), Dove “film” which is really an ad and a very savvy use of cause marketing sparked a thought when it suggested I “speak” to my girls before the media does.

What I noticed, is that my own Awareness Raising talks to my three girls, the youngest of whom has Autism and significant delays of every kind, are always about how they interact with others, not as much about how they see themselves, value themselves, interact with themselves.

There is no talk about how they are smart/pretty/good/nice/blah/blah/blah they are. That’s all subjective. That’s all fake. And frankly, I’m not convinced those are adjectives I’m interested in promoting in my children.
Rather, I talk about an action they took that showed their empathy, consideration for ANOTHER, effort.

I speak about the time they took to problem solve and how they showed thoughtfulness, compassion, and put another ahead of their own want. I praise them for stepping into the scary place of standing up to someone who is mean to a friend; praise who they are as citizens of the world. I purposely comment to others within my girls’ earshot about a kindness they showed. A fear they over came.

Their self-esteem will bloom from that.
Much as the self is implicit in “self-esteem”, it is less about the “self” and more about the “esteem” with which we treat each other.

This is why I started Red Boot Warrior. To amplify the voice of those Awareness Raising campaigns that raise our understanding, our common-sense, our knowledge, our spirits, and our humanity. Neuro-typical and not; heavy and not, able and challenged.

The folks behind Dove’s campaigns have been doing excellent, intelligent work promoting their good products with great campaigns about the responsibility we have in who we listen to, and reminding us to that sometimes we need to be louder than the chatter around us.
Right now, today, the chatter from parents of kids on the spectrum can get drowned out by the droning of policy makers.

So. What will you share today that will raise awareness and raise your self-esteem? How will you treat children like my three-old-daughter? Will you become a living, breathing awareness raising human being whose self-esteem is measured by true worthiness? Likely, yes, afterall you’ve stayed with me this far.

Ready to feel that little bit better? Stronger? Gooder? Please, share and comment now.

Leave a Reply

