Transitions Snaffu.

Yesterday’s post about entrepreneurs must have caused a ripple of confusion among those of you who read my posts because I’m clearly going in a new direction for this blog.

Until now, when I wrote it was about motherhood and the girls.  The thing is, increasingly I realize that there is quite a bit more I do and experience as a woman with young children who has a business, and I want to talk about that as much as I want to talk about the other stuff. Because life isn’t about one or the other – it’s about all of it.

Too often first time moms have asked me about working for themselves and how I balance it all (catalyst for the Complete and Utter Imbalance page).  Evidently, “work for yourself” has come to mean “dream job”.  Which it is, and isn’t.

So Wiggle Room is not about the social group Wee Wiggles, nor about the tales and tribulations of raising three daughters. It is about the wiggle room in our definitions about what it means to be a mother in this day and age when women are CEO’s, Entrepreneurs, Prime Ministers, Presidents and Business women, and professionals who also have children.

When Yahoo’s CEO, Marissa Mayer announced that she wouldn’t be taking leave for longer than a week or so, I ran off at the mouth in the privacy of my home…actually, come to think of it I think I posted to FB as well….about how it was ridiculous and the baby needed more of it’s mother.  I talked about how it would set back any progress the maternity leave advocacy groups in the US would make and that she was too inexperienced to know better.

Months later, I realize this is all about wiggle room. Who’s to say it’s not right for her and her child?I scrunched my nose at my own intolerance.  As the founder of Wee Wiggles I have met hundreds of moms of all types – the ones I understand most are those who like me love their kids and personally need (not financially need) to work outside the home. But I see and appreciate the diversity in what motherhood means to each of us….there is a lot to be said on this subject but that’ll be for some other post.

My mother’s philosophy is that it’s about the quality of time you spend with your child over the quantity of time. Others say, quality sorts itself out, it’s quantity that matters – they simply need us moms around.  I’m more of a quantity and quality person – until 7pm. After that, unless it’s an emergency ask your father or do it yourself!

So I’ve done here what I’ve done for clients for years: tweak things so that they are genuine and authentic and engaging for their clients (in my case, mini tribe of readers).

We’ll have articles and videos, guest posts and comment-debates about this wiggle room in the land of mom. I hope you’re in for the journey, and I hope you invite your friends.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Carole Gutrath says:

    I gained my confidence in business and management after a decade of employment in the ‘60s. I chose to become an “at home Mum” for my three children in the ‘70s as part of an agreement with my husband who had a grand business plan which required that he be away from home many months of the year.

    In the late ‘70s I was disheartened by the constant bombardment of insults by feminist icons, such as Gloria Steinem (who chose not to become a mother), for the life style I had chosen. I have since watched and followed with interest and curiosity the evolution of motherhood, the expectations of young mothers for themselves as well as the judgement of others towards them as “at home mothers” or “working mothers”.

    This is a rather interesting quote from a more mature and knowledgeable Gloria Steinem:
    “So far, what’s been accepted is that women can do something new providing they continue to do everything they did before, which is not possible. It’s why now, women in both our countries have the problem that before only poor women had, which is working inside the home and outside both.”

Leave a Reply

