A New Nayaism and A Rant.

I call Noosh’s pacifier a Chupete (in Spanish). Al calls it a susette (in French) and Naya has called it a chupete or a sus indiscriminately, up until seven months ago when she started calling it a “button”.

We don’t know where she drew inspiration for that name, but the new name stuck. That is until recently when after a conversation with daddy about pacifiers our lovely little lady was inspired to rename my most hated of all things baby and started calling it a “buttonfier”.

Little side-rant: I loved that she took a pacifier when she was a couple of days old because I didn’t want her to suck her thumb. With conviction I went on and on about how you can always remove the pacifier but that you would be hard pressed to get away with removing your kids thumb.

I have never ever been more wrong in my life. THAT pacifier is harder to remove than if I tried to convince Naya that we were going to remove her finger.

Application of new-found wisdom on second child: Sienna sucks her thumb.

She has shot pacifiers out of her little mouth with such force that its actually stung when they’ve clocked me in the face, and now my tune has changed. I have no I-love-Pacifiers anthem….No more strong convictions.

Just a huge question mark over my head about what to do with a 2.5 year old that won’t let that little sucker go and a 10 month old who adorably sucks her thumb.

Wisdom welcome.

A.

One Comment Add yours

  1. My son had his “do-do” until he was 2 years 4 months old. By that point we were down to just one Avent pacifier as I refused to buy any more and he only ever used it at night. At about that same time a very close friend of ours was having a baby. We started talking to him about how babies like “do-dos” and that he was getting to be a little bit old for his.

    We suggested that it might be a nice gift for “baby Claire” if he would pass it onto her so that she could enjoy it as much as he had. We went to the dollar store and he helped pick out a small box for it. We made a card for Claire when we got home and the next time we saw her, he proudly handed it over. Claire’s mom made a huge fuss over it and said that she was so proud of him to have given her such a fantastic gift. I think I had tears in my eyes when he handed it over I was so proud of him.

    There were a few nights that he asked for it, but we would just remind him that we no longer had it and that Claire was now enjoying it, and within about a week or so he had given up on it. I am sure that this will not work with every child, but it’s worth a try! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

