Did I say that already?

Al sometimes thinks I nag. Really, honesty, I just don’t remember asking….or whether he answered at all. And I know he sometimes uses this to his advantage…the thing is that I never remember long enough to hold it against him.

I don’t remember. Anything. Ever. When I watch a crime show and there is a woman testifying that she doesn’t remember a thing, I believe her if she looks like she is within what we reasonably associate with child-bearing years.

My friend Alison say’s she heard that each of your children takes a piece of your brain. My friend Mindy has a tag line in her email signature with the following quote: Insanity is hereditary. You get it from your children. I’ve written before that Sienna relieved me of my brain during her first 6 months of birth. And I know that with each magical drop of breast milk that drips from me, so drips my memory.

All this to say that I often don’t remember having said something. I’ve forgotten entire conversations that took place merely moments ago and interestingly it’s not just me.

Every single woman with young children will share the same experience, as though when the umbilical cord was cut so too the parts of our brains responsible for memory. In The Female Brain, Dr. Louann Brizendine offers the explination that during pregnancy, the female brain is naturally (and temporarily) re-wired to function in a way that gives priority to those skills and abilities required for childbirth and child rearing.

It makes perfect sense to me that that a woman’s brain is designed to transform enabling her to forget the astonishing pain of delivering a child vaginally. Frankly,the survival of the human race depends on it. Sienna wouldn’t be here if it didn’t.

What I would like to know is when I can expect it to shift back into retention mode; I know it has to happen eventually because my mother never forgets I thing I did.

A

Leave a Reply

